And so I Sit

And so I sit and I listen
I listen to you complain about love when there is a trail of suiters behind you
Ready to catch you
When behind me there is only my shadow
And she’s to weak to catch me.

And so I sit and listen
I listen to you complain about compromise
When you’re the one who can’t handle desire
And then theres me, yearning for another chance at commitment

And so I sit and listen
I listen to you say how no one loves you
When I am sitting here, still loving you

And so I sit and get lost
I get lost in my thoughts and imaginings
But I sit and find nothing, I’m going no where
I’m empty.
There is nothing to pick at whats left of my mind and heart because its all up smoke
The ashes gone, blown away with your last kiss

So I sit and build a wall to hide my insanity behind a smile
What else can I do?
I have to sit and listen to you after all

And so I sit and listen
Holding back the tears in order to be strong
I’ll get by on my own
But you?
If you could, I wouldn’t be listening.

Leave a Reply

